A Simple Nutritious Autumnal Spinach and Bean Soup

Now that fall has arrived, I find myself making soups (using my homemade vegetable stock which I store in my freezer) on a regular basis. Being that nutrition has a huge impact on my overall health, I prefer to cook at home where I have control of what I put in my mouth and use fresh and fewer ingredients. This allows me to continue to see and feel the benefits of eating for health. Not to mention it’s easier on the wallet! So let’s keep it simple. The following recipe from EatingWell magazine (eatingwell.com) is super-easy and takes minutes to prepare, yet provides tremendous nutritional benefits. It’s one delicious bowl of nutrition!

2186583888_0e7e017701

Tuscan Spinach, Bean & Sausage Soup

Note: Pantry staples like cannellini beans, frozen spinach and reduced sodium chicken broth make this soup a snap to throw together on a busy weeknight. Make it a meal. Serve with crusty whole grain bread & sliced tomatoes!

4 servings, 1 ½ cup each

Ingredients:

  • 1 link hot Italian turkey sausage (I usually buy aidell’s chicken and apple)
  • 1 19 oz can cannellini beans, rinsed
  • 1 14-oz can reduced sodium chicken broth (I use vegetable broth which I store in my freezer. See blog post February 10, 2015:)
  • 8 oz frozen spinach
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ¼ tsp dried marjoram
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • 2 Tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese ( not the stuff in the green can!)

Preparation:

  1. Bring sausage & ¼ inch water to a simmer in small skillet over medium heat. Cook, uncovered, until water evaporates, 5-10 minutes. Continue to cook until sausage is browned on all sides, ~ 4 minutes. Transfer to a cutting board: cut in ½ inch slices
  2. Combine sausage, beans, broth, garlic, spinach & marjoram in medium saucepan. (I will also add any veggies which I have in my fridge such as carrots, celery, peppers) Cover & cook over medium heat for 10 minutes. Season with salt & pepper. Stir in cheese just before serving.   **To get an additional ‘bump’ of nutrition, I always squish a few handfuls of raw spinach in the bottom of the bowl just before I ladle the soup into the bowl or mug

Nutrition:

Per serving: 143 calories; 4 g fat; 17 mg cholesterol; 19 carbs; 14 g protein: 7 g fiber: 590 mg sodium; 509 mg potassium

Bon Apetite!

Leave a Reply

