Homemade Stock: Simply Nutritious

vegetable stock image

 

If there is one thing of which I am certain, it’s that I eat a lot of veggies….in whatever form. I find that in the cooler months, I make soup on a weekly basis, and as you know, the foundation of a delicious, hearty soup is the stock. Well, being a dietitian, I am always looking for ways to improve the nutritional quality of whatever I put in my mouth. So, I realized that instead of always reaching for a store-bought stock which contains an excessive amount of sodium, I should be making my own. I am pleased to say that as of this past autumn, I have been making my own vegetable stock on a regular basis. I had no idea how easy, economical and nutritious it is!!!

All it entails is collecting the scraps and trimmings of whatever veggies you use, preferably carrots, celery, onions, parsley, herbs, garlic, leeks and placing them in a plastic bag or container and storing in the freezer. (Actually, I have used cauliflower and broccoli stumps, beet greens, and Brussel sprout leaves in the mix too.) Make sure none of the trimmings or scraps contain mold. When you have approximately 4 cups of trimmings, place them in a pot with 8 cups of water, salt and whole peppercorns. Bring the mixture to a boil and let simmer for 1-1 1/2 hours. Strain the veggies and voila! you have a nutritious stock which you can freeze in individual containers or use immediately in soup or stew:) It’s that easy!

So, get back to the basics of cooking, start saving time, money and nutrients and make a vegetable stock which will make you proud of yourself!!!

 

Bon Appetit!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

